I RE-ENTERED THE FOOD CHAIN

GENO RE-ENTERED THE FOOD CHAIN

ENTER THE FOOD CHAIN

On June 15, I swam my first full lap since my surgery. I made it across the lake in 35 minutes. Then, yesterday I did it again in 32 minutes.

Today the Chemo bomb hit me.I did only 10 lengths in the lap-pool. Only 11 more chemo sessions.

Don't get stuck here

NOT MY FAVORITE CHAIR

This is not the most pleasant way to spend the morning. I check in, go to the chair and a phlebotomist ( also known as VAMPIRE ) sticks me in the arm and usually misses the vein on the first three try’s. Then, another VAMPIRE try’s and is usually successful. I think the first vampire hasn’t earned her fangs yet. A blood sample is drawn and tested to verify I am in good enough condition to receive the  gemcitabine( poison). It takes about a half an hour to evaluate the blood, then they start a pre-poison intervienous drip of a steroid to reduce the reaction to the poison. That takes another half hour or so. Finally they start the drip. About an hour later it is over, the vampire removes her fangs and I’m free to go.

About 24 hours later, I get hit with the reaction from the chemo, severe abdominal cramps and extreme fatigue. This knocks me on my back for a couple of days. Then I recover and get ready to do it again.

I WANT TO THANK ALL WHO SO GENEROUSLY GAVE TO MY CANCER FUND. THANKS TO YOUR GENEROSITY I WILL BE ABLE TO CONTINUE WITH THE RESEARCH FOR THE NEXT FIVE YEARS. MY HEARTFELT THANKS.

I ESPECIALLY WANT TO THANK ALL THOSE WHO PRAYED FOR ME AND SHOWED SO MUCH LOVE AND CARING. I AM TRULY HUMBLED!

BE SURE TO CLICK THE SEVEN MIRACLES TAB AT THE TOP OF THE PAGE.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I RE-ENTERED THE FOOD CHAIN

  1. Liz gmazel

    Continuing to pray for all the family. Liz

    Like

  2. Connie

    Hi Gene – just wanted you to know that I enjoyed our phone conversation very very much. It was a good long talk and it ran thorugh my mind for a couple of days later – which brings us to now. I enjoyed reading your interesting remarks. Y ou are a good writer. Such talent runs in our family!

    XXOO Connie

    Like

Leave a Reply

